Friday Fictioneers 20th June 2014

Friday rolls around again, and with it Friday Fictioneers. Writers around the world receive a prompt pic from Rochelle:

old-wallpaper-mary-shipman

and write 100 words of flash fiction. I joined in, and wrote this:

 

 

“Never get good at something you don’t like doing” – that’s what my Dad said.

I’ve never been even competent at those ‘man’ jobs. Building shelves, laying carpets, bleeding radiators; I would rather pay someone to do them than spend my free time bodging.

And decorating. I’ve never got the hang of wallpapering. How I managed to make quite such a mess of it, that’s a mystery. But it’s a bigger mystery why my ex-wife asked me to help at all.

Maybe I should have taken a little more care, a little more pride. But never mind, it’s her house now.

 

 

 

6 responses to “Friday Fictioneers 20th June 2014

Over to you...

