Friday Fictioneers 13th June 2014

Once again it’s Friday, and that means it’s time for Friday Fictioneers. Rochelle sent us this picture prompt:

teds-view

and I’ve written 100 words in reply:-

 

Every day I watch that ferry arrive, the ferry which brought me here. And one day it will take me away.

They promised work awaited, if I signed up and paid the arrangement fee. Smiles and handshakes greeted me at the dock and took my cash before they showed me to my lodgings. For those lodgings, with their wire-mesh windows and overcrowded rooms, half of my wages are deducted. More is taken for food, electricity, admin, leaving me two dollars a day. I hide forty cents inside the broken heater every Sunday.

One day those coins will take me away.

 

 

20 responses to “Friday Fictioneers 13th June 2014

Over to you...

