Friday Fictioneers 30th May 2014

Ping! An email arrives. I check my inbox and I’m delighted to see it’s from Rochelle and it’s this week’s prompt pic for Friday Fictioneers:

jennifer-pendergast4

Ping! The inbox in my head tells me a story has arrived. It’s 100 words long:

 

 

I look up from my desk and standing before me is a hooded figure. My eyes follow its yellowed, pointing finger.

I am shown a courtyard, the summer sun shining with inviting brightness. The air is still and quiet, the ground is paved with austere grey slate. Through a golden archway there is hazy sunshine. But the trees are golden, there is fortune, success.

I am being offered a pact. There can be a content and golden autumn, but I must forfeit the sun of my current summer.

The finger drops and the vision fades.

I return to my writing.

9 responses to “Friday Fictioneers 30th May 2014

Over to you...

