Five Sentence Fiction – A Misunderstanding

I don’t write enough flash fiction, so this week I have joined in with Lillie’s Five Sentence Fiction. The last line of this story has been sitting in the back of my mind for years, waiting for a project to latch itself onto. When I saw the prompt word “misunderstanding” there was only one tale to tell…

 

 

“Did you really think that was the job, stealing one tiny bag with two thousand pathetic pounds in it?”

“But we followed your instructions to the letter, Boss – tie up the drivers, steal the truck, bring you the cash, burn everything else.”

“What about the painting, the twenty million pound painting I’ve spent six months planning how to rob?”

“I don’t know anything about no painting, your exact words were ‘dump everything else, burn it if you want, but make sure you bring me the money’ and there it is, in the bag.”

“Not money, goddamit, MONET – M, O, N, E, T!

Over to you...

