Friday Fictioneers 3rd January 2014

Rochelle has supplied us with a wonderful prompt to start the new year:

tree-climbing-poppy

and here are my 100 words:

 

 

I have a unique role. I am one of the family, but apart. I have full responsibility for security; noone approaches the house without my knowledge or without my warning the household. If I am inside, I am first to the door to check the visitor’s credentials; if I am outside I go to the garden gate and vet them there.

Today I discovered this spot, high above everybody, where I can watch, warn and protect. From here I can fulfil my duties better than ever.

And after they’ve gone back indoors I will work out how to get down.

12 responses to “Friday Fictioneers 3rd January 2014

Over to you...

